In 1898, a bill was passed that meant all remaining bullion purchased under the Sherman Silver Purchase Act was to be coined into silver dollars. In 1904, when these reserves were gone, the Morgan was not longer minted. In 1921 it was minted for one final year, before being replaced by the Peace dollar.

The Peace dollar was minted from 1921 to 1928, and also in 1934 and 1935. A competition was held to find a new design which symbolised peace to replace the Morgan, the winning design was by Anthony de Francisci. The design features the head and neck of the Goddess of Liberty, and on the reverse a bald eagle with an olive branch with 'Peace' written beneath. What also makes the Peace dollar special is that it was the last dollar coin to be made in silver.

Although the Pittman Act of 1918 meant that silver dollars were to be struck off, citizens argued in favour of a special coin to mark the end of WWI. In 1928 the coin was no longer minted, but others were produced in 1934, 1935 and then again in 1965, when more than 300 000 Peace dollars with the 1964 date were produced. However, these versions were never released.

Both the Morgan dollar and the peace dollar are on sale at US Asset Forfeiture & Seizures inc. Search the catalogue here.